WFMW: Storing Cards You Receive

August 22, 2007 at 9:00 am 6 comments

Throughout the year cards arrive in the mail for special occasions. I have never been able to bring myself to throw them away and used to simply throw them in a big box in my closet. Every now and then I would rifle through the box reading some of the cards and looking at signatures and special notes written inside. But I always found myself wondering what year I got that card and if there was a better way of storing them.

One day I was walking through an office supply store and I saw something that made me immediately think of my stash of cards. It was a 26 section file folder.filefldr.jpg

I started with my Christmas cards filing them away using one folder per year. When Princess was born I bought another on just for her. It will be able to hold all the cards she gets for Baptism, birthdays, Easter, Halloween from birth all the way through college. It is really great being able to flip through the Christmas cards, see photo cards of friends and family and know when that picture was taken.

Using a file folder to store cards works for me. For more Works-for-Me-Wednesday tips visit Shannon at Rocks in My Dryer.

Entry filed under: Stuff. Tags: .

Oh, me! Oh, my! My Sesame Street Persona

6 Comments Add your own

  • 1. smkirklin  |  August 22, 2007 at 10:50 am

    What a great idea. I was sorting through a drawer the other day and had a bunch of cards I was saving, but I had no idea what to do with them. Great idea.

  • 2. Marcia Francois  |  August 22, 2007 at 4:03 pm

    Good idea for categorising. May I suggest that you decide on a limit otherwise in a few years you’re going to be overrun with those things :)

  • 3. SAHmmy Says  |  August 22, 2007 at 4:59 pm

    Love your storage idea–I have cards stashed in several manila envelopes right now. I do take a moment to write the year on the back of the card when I get it.

  • 4. Jodi  |  August 22, 2007 at 6:40 pm

    oh my gosh i’m such a pack rat already…this is one thing that I don’t collect…love your storage solution though! I do make cards and keep them all tidy. love your blog~Jodi

  • 5. The Estrogen Files  |  August 23, 2007 at 12:48 am

    I like the cards I receive, but I don’t hold onto them unless they’re really special. Or cute. Or I just like them. It’s awful hard to let go, but I just can’t keep everything, ya know?

    6 people in a 1400 sq ft house plus a dog, 2 cats, 2 birds and assorted houseplants? A bit crowded…

    Someday (sigh)

    Good post!

  • 6. Kathy in WA  |  August 24, 2007 at 2:07 am

    I usually end up sticking letters and cards in a ziploc bag and throwing it into a storage bin. ha! I wonder why I keep them but, at the same time, I can’t BEAR to throw them away. I like your idea. Neat and simple, organized and easy to access. Thanks for sharing!


Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed

Don't be shy. I love getting email
twithhoney @ gmail . com
(just remove the spaces or click on the link)

Check these out!

Some chances to give and receive:

Mothers Day 2009

Mom Generations

Mom Blogs

Mom Blogs

Sweet Tweets!

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Most Popular

For Me?


Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

