WFMW: Sock Containment

August 29, 2007 at 7:00 am 9 comments

Princess has small socks and even when paired they tend to get lost in the drawer.  Or in the laundry.

To keep all of the socks contained I got two of those mesh laundry bags.  One bag hangs on the edge of the hamper and dirty socks go in there.  Most of the time I can just throw the entire sock bag into the washer inside the laundry bag with a load of lights.  The washer and dryer haven’t been able to eat any socks on me since I started doing this.p1010851.jpg

When clean socks come out of the dryer I put the pairs together and they go into the clean sock laundry bag.  Then socks and bag go into her sock drawer.  When I need to get a pair of socks for Princess I only have to grab the bag, open it up and take the pair of my choice.  No more digging through shirts and tights trying to find where the butterfly socks are hiding.


Keeping small socks contained using mesh laundry bags works for me.   For more Works-for-Me-Wednesday tips visit Shannon at Rocks in My Dryer.

Entry filed under: WFMW. Tags: .

Hi Mom! Traveling with a Toddler to Texas

9 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Paige  |  August 29, 2007 at 5:04 pm

    Wow. But I have 7 people living in my house, do you think it could work if we all had a bag like that? I’ll have to think about that, because honestly, matching up the socks is the worst part of the laundry!

  • 2. Jen M  |  August 29, 2007 at 9:30 pm

    Where were you when my kids were all wearing socks the size of goldfish crackers? GREAT idea. Thanks.

  • 3. jendisjournal  |  August 29, 2007 at 9:51 pm

    I should try this! I have had such trouble with socks lately. I totally understand the part about digging through tights and shirts.

  • 4. yestheyareallmine  |  August 29, 2007 at 10:38 pm

    That is such a great idea!! I bet I could do that for all 6 kids! Love it. :)

  • 5. Kimmy  |  August 30, 2007 at 8:50 am

    i have my own sock solution. i have a large plastic green bowl that i have fondly dubbed the “bowl o’ socks”. my girl has fun picking out pairs from the bowl.
    my mother, of course, thinks i am NUTS! : )
    love those mesh laundry bags, though– I use one to put bath toys in and then i suction cup it to the shower wall- toys dry nicely and are self-contained!

  • 6. james  |  August 30, 2007 at 10:36 am

    I like that idea, very similar to what Wife does with her delicates.
    As for me my solution is simple, once a year I buy 20 pairs of identical black socks and then they all match all the time.
    Then again fashion never was my strong point!

  • 7. Laane  |  August 30, 2007 at 2:27 pm

    Each and every member of our household (8) have their own bag of socks.
    They all go together in the laundry, but when I sort them they go to a bag for each member.

    For 2 boys I’ve bought the same socks, dad has his own colour,
    2 other boys also their own colour.
    So that sorts fast.

  • 8. Sasha  |  August 31, 2007 at 12:10 am

    What a great idea. The dryer keeps eating the kids socks. I have 5 kids. I was thinking if they each had a bag and put all their socks and maybe underwear in them. I could wash them and give them straight back without the hassle of figuring out whose is what.

    You are brilliant. Thanks for sharing such a fabulous tip!

  • 9. The Estrogen Files  |  August 31, 2007 at 11:22 pm

    I did this with all my kids starting as newborns up till about age 2. It works SO well!


Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed

Don't be shy. I love getting email
twithhoney @ gmail . com
(just remove the spaces or click on the link)

Check these out!

Some chances to give and receive:

Mothers Day 2009

Mom Generations

Mom Blogs

Mom Blogs

Sweet Tweets!

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Most Popular

For Me?


Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

