WFMW: Snack drawer

September 26, 2007 at 4:43 am 9 comments

One of the little things I do to save money is by keeping a snack drawer at work. Buying snacks out of the vending machine can get expensive. If you’re like me and want a little something to munch on in the middle of the afternoon you can easily feed a five dollar bill into one of those machines. Even worse is the selection. Where I work the vending machines are filled maybe once per week. After the second day your choices are limited and usually the healthier stuff is gone. Sometimes you want the cholesterol laden potato chips but other days you want something a little better for your body.

I never use all the drawers in my desk so I set aside one of them for snacks. I fill it up with snack sized bags of snack food I bought at the grocery store, a little bit of candy and some emergency lunch options. Easy open cans of soup. Those single serving pouches of macaroni and cheese. Throw in some disposable bowls and I’m set for any last minute hunger attacks – even after the cafeteria closes. My snack drawer is both convenient and frugal.

You could lower your expenses even more by purchasing the regular sized bags of your snack food and eating the same thing all week long. Or break it into single serving packages using Ziplock bags or reusable storage containers (ie: Gladware, Tupperware) But I discovered that I’m realizing serious savings just by pre-buying my snacks at the store instead of the vending machine. Plus I squirrell some of those snacks away in the back of the pantry to pull out for last minute getaways or road trips. Then I always have a small stash ready to grab at home too.

Here’s the latest example of how much I saved with my snack drawer:
I love Sun Chips. In my opinion they are one of the healthier chip type snacks out there and I find them rather tasty. To buy a 1.5 oz bag from the vending machine in the break room at work would set me back $0.90.
This weekend I found a box of snack sized Sun Chips bags at the grocery store. This box had 30 of the 1.5 oz bag in it and was selling for $8.99. That breaks down to around 30 cents per serving.

Another way of looking at it: The same 30 snack bags that I bought at the grocery store for $8.99 would cost $27 from the vending machine. I saved $18 for one month of snacks!!

For more Works-for-Me-Wednesday tips visit Shannon at Rocks in My Dryer.

Entry filed under: WFMW. Tags: , , .

You know you’re getting old Thanks, boys!

9 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Megan(FriedOkra)  |  September 26, 2007 at 8:18 am

    That’s a great one! :) I buy the huge thingy of Goldfish for Bean and put those in ziplocs, too.

  • 2. Stephanie  |  September 26, 2007 at 11:32 am

    Way to save money! If it were me, I think I would eat more snacks if I had a drawer full of them!

  • 3. Nicki  |  September 26, 2007 at 1:32 pm

    The savings are amazing! Great idea!

  • 4. Nap Warden  |  September 26, 2007 at 5:08 pm

    Way to save it!!! Every little bit counts!

  • 5. Anglophile Football Fanatic  |  September 26, 2007 at 6:50 pm

    I found you via What works for us. I love tea, too. And, I am also very proudly Catholic. I cuss a lot, but I do hit the confessional quite frequently for it. I’ll sure be back to visit.

  • 6. Karen @ Simply A Musing Blog  |  September 27, 2007 at 1:09 am

    I would totally do this too, if I was still working. I used to send food like that with my husband (even drinks) when he was still working – it was a terrific way to save some serious money!

  • 7. shoeaddict  |  September 27, 2007 at 4:25 pm

    I love Sun Chips, too. You wouldn’t happen to be going shopping soon would you? ;)

  • 8. xboxwife  |  September 27, 2007 at 11:38 pm

    This is an awesome tip! It would work really great for kids lunches, too!

    When I was pregnant and still working, I spent a small fortune every day on the vending machines – it was years ago, and I think I spent at least $2 a day. Now it would be even more!

    Mrs. Brownstone @ XBOX Wife

  • 9. carrie  |  September 28, 2007 at 3:03 pm

    i’m the same way. it hurts me to pay full price for anything. my drawers here at work are big enough, i just put the whole box of whatever it is in there. right now i have a box of granola bars, a box of triscuits, a can of soup, a jar of peanuts, and a box of teabags (a lot cheaper than buying a coke from the machine!)


Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed

Don't be shy. I love getting email
twithhoney @ gmail . com
(just remove the spaces or click on the link)

Check these out!

Some chances to give and receive:

Mothers Day 2009

Mom Generations

Mom Blogs

Mom Blogs

Sweet Tweets!

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Most Popular

For Me?


Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

